One People

Achdus is Hebrish for “unity”.

Vincent the mover

So today I moved.  Well, Vincent moved me.  I expected the movers to be at my office at 9:00 a.m. and got a call at 7:30.

Dr. . .I am Vincent.  I am outside your office.  I can’t get in.

Vincent, I said 9:00.  You can’t expect a woman who has said she’d be somewhere at 9:00 to be there at 7:30.  That’s not going to happen.

It’s okay, It’s okay.  Don’t worry.  I understand.  I just had many jobs so I thought if I could start I would start.

Yeah, Vincent, I understand.  I’ll be there as soon as I can.

Which wasn’t soon.  I made it there 15 minutes to 9.   And Vincent was there with 2 other movers.  They got to work and had the place cleared out in an hour. We talked as he filled out the countless pages of paperwork that you have to fill out to move sofas and file cabinets.

Vincent, where are you from?  (I thought Israel.  It was an Israeli company)

I pronounce it Vincienze (maybe that’s what he said) and I am from Bulgaria.

Oh, and how did you come to America?

I came through Israel.  I met my wife in Israel.

How do you like moving furniture?

My desk alone is a bear and Vincent is not a huge man.

I am studying finance.  I will not be doing it forever, moving furniture.

But it keeps you quiet, no?

What do you mean?

You’re tired at the end of the day.

Yes, and there is more time for my wife to talk.

You said a mouthful, Vincent.  Thanks so much,

Zachdus

August 30, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

